MPSD Transportation Department
***HIRING BUS DRIVERS***
Starting Pay: $15.00/Hour
182 Days per School Year/ 5Hours per Day
Qualifications: Must possess a valid Class ‘B’ commercial driver’s license with Passenger (P) and School Bus (S) endorsements; and State of MS Bus Driver’s Certification. Must pass a regular school bus drivers training course every other year taught by the MS Department of Education. Must be at least 21 years of age and not in high school. Must be of good moral character, emotionally stable, cheerful, confident, and considerate. Must attend and pass a Basic First Aid course each year. Must pass a pre-employment drug screening, DOT physical and background check as prescribed by state statute.
Available Employee Benefits Include: State Retirement (PERS), Health Insurance, Life Insurance, and Sick Leave
All Interested Persons Should Contact:
Supervisor of Transportation
3600 Belleview Avenue
Moss Point, MS 39563
How Can Parents Help?
There a several ways parents and guardians can help ensure a safe ride to and from school for their student(s).
Review the Rules—Rules for safe transportation are discussed in your child’s student handbook. Some of the safest things your child can do are: 1. Stay seated. 2. Keep their hands, feet, body, and objects to themselves. 3. No swearing, rude gestures, or cruel teasing. 4. Talk in a classroom voice. 5. Follow the driver and monitor’s directions. 6. Stay out of “The Danger Zone”.
Read Our Philosophy—. Remind them that in Mississippi riding a school bus is not a right, but a privilege they must earn by behaving properly.
Reinforce Safe Riding Habits—Encourage your child to behave properly on his/her bus ride. Imagine yourself turning your back on 60 or 65 students while maneuvering heavy equipment through traffic, road construction, and adverse weather conditions.
Know the Law—Mississippi law requires motorist to stop for a school bus when the overhead red lights are flashing. Bus drivers activate the amber warning lights 100 feet before a bus stop. The red lights are automatically activated when the driver opens the door to load or unload passengers. Please be alert to these lights, particularly in congested school zone areas. Also, please observe the school bus loading zones at our schools and please do not park in those areas.
Discourage Unsafe Items—State Statute empowers the State Department of Education to set forth rules and regulations pertaining to school bus operations. As part of these regulations, students shall not transport items, materials, or equipment that in any way endangers the lives, health, or safety of the passengers. To comply with this requirement, items such as glass bottles or jars, chemicals, flammable liquids, objects with sharp or dangerous edges, oversize objects that can’t be secured, or any other item that may be hazardous in the event of an emergency stop or accident, will not be transported. Please inform your child of these requirements, and make other transportation arrangements if items such as those mentioned here must be transported to or from school.
Encourage Respect for the Equipment—Each year we have to spend an excessive amount of tax dollars to repair school bus damage resulting from vandalism that occurs enroute. This includes graffiti, broken windows and most of all from seats being cut. Encourage your child to take care of the school district transportation.
Get Informed and Involved—. Remember that our purpose is to provide safe and quality transportation for all eligible district students. Please call us at 228-475-7156 with any questions, comments, or concerns.